Sign In | Join | Print Page
APHA Awards

The American Public Health Association recognizes public health professionals through 9 awards, each given out during the APHA Annual Meeting. A Call for Nominations goes out about 6 months before the Annual Meeting.

Sedgwick Memorial Medal - awarded for distinguished service and advancement of public health knowledge and practice.

APHA Award for Excellence - given each year to a living individual in recognition of his/her exceptionally meritorious contribution to the improvement of the health of the people.

David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health - awarded to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to public health through science-based advocacy.

Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize for Creative Local Public Health Work - awarded to a local health officer of a county, city or other units of local government, in recognition for outstanding creative and innovative public health work.

Sidel-Levy Award for Peace - awarded to an APHA member who has made outstanding contributions to preventing war and promote international peace.

Martha May Eliot Award - honors extraordinary health service to mothers and children; to bring such achievement to the eyes of related professional people and the public; to stimulate young people in the field to emulate efforts resulting in such recognition, and to add within the profession and in the eyes of the public to the stature of professional workers in the field of maternal and child health.

Helen Rodriguez-Trias Social Justice Award - awarded to a person who has distinguished herself/himself professionally by working toward social justice for underserved and disadvantaged populations.

Jay S. Drotman Memorial Award - recognizes the career of a promising young public health professional or student.

Student Assembly Public Health Mentoring Award - recognize the essential role of mentoring in public health and leadership development.