Sign In | Join | Print Page
Share |

Public health professionals deserve to be recognized for their achievements. This occurs on the state and national levels. Each year, CPHA selects five people to receive one of five awards that are presented during the CPHA Annual Meeting. A call for award nominees typically goes out two months before the event.

CEA Winslow Award
The CEA Winslow Award is presented to a public health professional who has demonstrated leadership and achievement in practice, research, and/or education. The award commemorates Charles-Edward Amory Winslow (1877-1957), a pioneer in public health and medicine, who is credited with founding the second-oldest school of public health in the country at Yale University. Among the most widely-quoted health leaders of his time, Dr. Winslow believed that equal in weight with  scientific ideas about health and disease was a commitment to social justice โ€“ that social ills must be first in the "conquest of epidemic disease.โ€

CEA Winslow Award Winners

1955 - Friend Lee Mickle

1988 - Martha Leonard

1956 - CT PH Nursing Agencies Board

1989 - Elizabeth Bellis

1957 - Ira Hiscock and Stanley H. Osborn

1990 - Ruth Abbott

1958 - Elizabeth Fox

1991 - Roslyn U. Fishman

1959 - M. Allen Pond

1992 - John Glasgow

1960 - Alfred Burgdorf

1994 - Susan Addiss

1961 - John R. Paul

1995 - James F. Jekel

1962 - Hazel V. Dudley

1996 - Virginia S. Humphrey

1963 - Martha Clifford

1997 - James L. Hadler

1964 - Louis J. Dumont

1998 - Cornell Scott/Katrina Clark

1965 - Lenard F. Menczer

1999 - Holger Hansen

1966 - Warren J. Scott

2000 - Richard F. Straub

1967 - Franklin M. Foote

2001 - Marge Nelligan

1968 - Edward M. Cohart

2002 - Alfreda Turner

1969 - Leonard Parente

2003 - Elaine O'Keefe

1970 - Wilbur Johnston

2004 - Paul M. Shur

1971 - Florence Austin

2005 - Joan Segal

1972 - Mrs.Chase Going Woodhouse

2006 - Ruth N. Knollmueller

1973 - Edwin Meiss

2007 - Katherine A. Kelley

1974 - James Hart

2008 - Elaine Anderson

1975 - Barbara Christine

2009 - Michael J. Perlin

1976 - Adrian Ostfield

2010 - Baker Salsbury

1977 - Estelle Siker

2011 - Shelley Diehl Geballe

1978 - Fred Adams

2012 - Patricia J. Checko

1979 - J. Wister Meigs

2014 - William G. Faraclas

1981 - Robert W. McCollum

2015 - Jeannette R. Ickovics 

1984 - I.S. Falk

2016 - Debbie Humphries

1985 - George Silver

2017 - Jennifer Kertanis

1986 - Ralph Gofstein

2018 - Karen Spargo

1987 - Alvin Novik

2019 - Martha Page

ra V. Hiscock Award
The Ira V. Hiscock Award is presented annually to a Connecticut layperson who, or organization that, has made notable contributions to the advancement of public health through public service, education, advocacy, and/or leadership. Ira Hiscock was an internationally-recognized epidemiologist and a public health professor at Yale University who inspired generations of students.

Ira V. Hiscock Award Winners

2005 - Garret Condon 

2013 - March for Change

2006 - 2-1-1, United Way and the State of Connecticut 

2014 - Ann Greene

2007 - Hartford Gay and Lesbian Health Collective

2015 - Chris Willems

2008 - Connecticut Cancer Partnership 

2016 - The Witness Project of Connecticut, Bridgeport

2009 - Christopher Donovan

2017 - Richard Blumenthal

2010 - Michel Nischan

2018 - AIDS Connecticut (ACT)

2011 - The University of Connecticut (UConn) Migrant Farm Worker Clinic

2019 - Mark Jenkins

Charles G. Huntington III Award
The Charles G. Huntington III Award is presented annually to a Connecticut health care practitioner who has demonstrated public health leadership and a commitment to the health and well-being of the public. Charles Huntington was a leader, role model, dedicated humanist, steadfast public health advocate, and a caregiver of the first order. He was a leader in the physician assistant profession, led the Connecticut Public Health Association for many years, and at the time of his death, was Associate Dean and Associate Professor at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine.

Charles G. Huntington III Award Winners

2010 - Bruce Gould

2016 - Thomas P. Meehan

2011 - Robert Hill and Gary Spinner

2017 - Richard Melchreit

2013 - Garry Lapidus

2018 - Angela Carrano

2014 - Louise-Marie Dembry

2019 - Dr. Charles Atkins

2015 - Stephen Updegrove

2020 - TBA

The Michael J. Perlin Student Award
The Michael J. Perlin Student Award recognizes a current graduate or undergraduate enrolled in an accredited public health program who demonstrates, through student activities and/or community service, a commitment to leadership, volunteerism, and the highest educational standards. At the time of his death, Perlin was Professor Emeritus of Public Health at Southern Connecticut State University, where he had distinguished himself as a respected educator, colleague, and public health advocate. During his 41 years in education, he spent the majority of his time at SCSU as a Professor of Public Health. Perlin was known as an energetic and ingenious teacher who left an indelible mark on countless students. He was the 2009 recipient of the CEA. Winslow Award.

Michael J. Perlin Student Award Winners

2013 - ร‰tienne X. Holder

2017 - Riddhi Doshi

2014 - Avery H. LaChance

2018 - Natalie Moore

2015 - Jonathon Noel

2019 - Gabrielle Diaz

2016 - Randy Domina and Elizabeth Schwartz

2020 - TBA

The Beth
Weinstein Award
The Beth Weinstein Award is bestowed on an individual working in, or on behalf of, a local or state government agency who has demonstrated continued excellence, partnership, promise, or accomplishment, and/or dedication to the advancement of public health. He or she may work directly in public health or with a cross-sector partnership organization. Beth Weinstein, MPH, served Connecticut with the highest distinction as the CT Department of Public Health (DPH) AIDS Division Director, Preventable Disease Director, and Family Health Director for many years. As a consummate public health professional and a model practitioner of civil service, Beth set an example of excellence by collaborating with mutual respect with public policymakers, government agency staff at the local, state, and federal levels, members of the media, non-governmental organizations, and the general public.

Beth Weinstein Award Winners

2019 - Patricia Dillon

2020 - TBA